Day 15

Hello!

I have been thinking about writing identities.  We help our children develop reading identities.  “I am the kind of reader who loves mysteries.  I read to get lost in a book and lose all track of time.” We also need to help our children develop writing identities.  We want them to leave our classrooms knowing what kind of writers they are.

That brings me to my question.  Do you know what kind of writer you are?  Check out this blog post from Michelle Haseltine on her blog One Grateful Teacher.  I loved reading her descriptors and thinking, “I do that!”  Can you identify ways you are like Michelle as a writer?  How is your writing life different than hers?  Try creating your own response to the question, ‘What kind of writer am I?’

http://1gratefulteacher.blogspot.com/2015/05/what-kind-of-writer-am-i.html

How would this exercise be helpful for your students?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

