Day 31

Hello,

Last night, my son and I were sitting together on the couch.  I was deeply engrossed in a book I was reading, Listen, Slowly, and wanted to finish it before I went to bed.  Sam was playing various games on his tablet.  After awhile he said, “I love June.  It’s my favorite month.  I hope it never ends.”  

I looked up at the clock and replied, “You have 37 minutes left in your favorite month.  You better enjoy them.  Oh wait, they added an extra second to today.  Maybe that will help stretch it out.”  

He was less than thrilled with my snarky response.  😉

With the arrival of July, I start to feel the days of summer draw to an end.  I go back to work at the end of the month, and my days of lazying around in my jammies come to a close.  I thought this might be a good time to reflect on my 5 little words of summer.

My big goal of writing every day is going well.  I have been.  Wahoo!  I see myself growing as a writer.  I signed up to participate in Kate Messner’s Teacher Write month on her blog.  It starts in July.  (I truly had never heard of it before.  Imagine my surprise when I discovered someone else and I had the same idea and relatively the same names for our idea!)

I have been reading.  I have made it through all of the 12 K-2 Units of Study Series books so far.  I just have 3-5 to go.  Another 12 books.  I have read a ton of other professional books as well, 3 completely and 5 I’m still working through.  

My garden is thriving.  I have green tomatoes, baby jalapeños, baby onions, baby carrots, and baby green beans.  The zucchini seeds I put out last week have already sprouted.  

Today I will finish remodeling Sam’s room.  We bought him a new bed and that meant a room overhaul.  The bed comes this afternoon.   (I love Amazon Prime!). And tomorrow I take him and his best buddy Eli to Six Flags for the day.  Next week, we leave for Florida.

I have been walking.  I would say I am averaging 6 days a week.  Yay, me.
And the ukeulele.  I’m sure you are dying to know how that little project is going.  Well, you will just have to wait for Max to come home from camp.  When he returns next week, then I will be able to share an update with you.  😀

How are you doing on your 5 words of summer?

This entry was posted in Summer Write 2015 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Day 31

  1. elsie says:

    Yes, summer is slipping away and soon we face a new school year. You are one busy lady! Enjoy your days at the beach. I hope your produce isn’t ready to harvest while you are gone, that’s always my luck.

    Like

  2. forresta0122 says:

    The extra second thing kind of amazes me. I never knew they had to add a second each year or however often.

    Your ukeulele…interesting. I knew you were working on learning it. If I had to learn an instrument it would be the violin….or the washboard. With either instrument I would have a guaranteed job in Branson.

    Like

Leave a Reply

