Day 32

Hello!

Today I am taking Sam and his best buddy, Eli, to Six Flags as Sam’s birthday party.  His birthday was in April.  (Don’t judge me.  I’m aware it’s July.  I already know I’m out of the running for ‘Mom of the Year’.). Sam is super excited to ride roller coasters ALL.  DAY.  LONG!  He has been planning this day for months.  I do not do roller coasters.  It all started at Six Flags when I was four-years-old.

*****

We were getting ready to go to Saudi Arabia in September.  Mom and Dad had pulled me out of Kinder Care and had a girl a couple houses away from our house babysit me while they were at work.  One day, Dad decided to take my babysitter and me to Six Flags.  I’m not sure why.  As I type this, it makes absolutely no sense, but whatever.  We go, we ride all the little kid stuff.  Dad and my babysitter are dying to ride The Screaming Eagle.  But they are stuck with me.  They convince me riding The Screaming Eagle will be fun.  They convince me I am going to LOVE it!  

I screamed the whole time.  I wanted off. When I finally got off, I threw up.  All over everyone and everything.  Serves them right!  Ever since, I have hated roller coasters.  

So no roller coasters for me.  Today, I will be reading.  I am packing four books.  That should cover me from opening to closing.  

Do you have any traumatic stories from childhood?

This entry was posted in Summer Write 2015 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

